Apprehensive About Having Your Veins Treated? Read This Story…

Betty had her veins treated last week and was so excited about her experience, she wrote this story to share… “I am a nurse at Morrison Vein Institute. I have nice legs, so from the outside, it didn’t look like I had any medical problem below the surface. However, I began to have symptoms of vein disease at the beginning of this year, like leg pain and heaviness after a day on my feet. Since I am a very active person, this was not going to work with my lifestyle. So I sought help. After an Ultrasound Scan of my legs, it was clear that I needed to have medical treatment. I was apprehensive about this, being generally a chicken.

So needless to say, I was very please when I had minimal discomfort during the vein procedure, and no discomfort to speak of at during or after the ultrasound-guided injections later. I did not experience any bruising, although everyone is different. I followed the instructions that we give our patients exactly.

The most important patient instruction that we give our patients is to wear hose for 48 hours after the procedure and then for 3 weeks during the day and to walk at least a half hour each day. For the hose wear, I found that the cotton thigh high is really comfortable, especially in the winter. I like wearing a closed toe for the first 48 hours because the open toe felt a little tight on my toes at night. However, everyone has different taste in hose wear.

During the first week, I did develop a rash near the top of my thighs from the hose. This is very rare, although I had heard a few patients complain of this in the past. So I thought I would pass on to you what I did to solve this problem; I turned the hose inside out and then used the roll-on adhesive at the top band area to hold the hose in place. That solved the problem perfectly.

I hope that anyone having symptoms, even with cosmetically nice legs, would consider getting an Ultrasound Scan and physician review to see the best way to treat their vein disease.”

betty pic 2

About morrisonvein

Morrison Vein Institute is a medical practice that specializes in the treatment of Varicose and Spider Veins. The Morrison Vein Institute takes the most advanced treatments of veins and vein disease available today and makes them even better by providing compassionate and thorough care. The Morrison Vein Institute specializes in minimally invasive, outpatient procedures for varicose and spider veins, such as Sclerotherapy, Ambulatory Phlebectomy, Endovenous Laser Ablation, VNUS Closure, and Ultrasound-Guided Sclerotherapy. Medical Director, Nick Morrison MD, FACPh, is a world-renowned leader in the field of Phlebology and has dedicated his medical practice to veins for over 16 years. He is joined in practice by Charles Rogers, MD, and James McEown, MD, and the Morrison Vein RN team.

Posted on November 4, 2013, in Morrison Vein Institute, Treatments and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Wow…I have read your entire story. Very interesting i like it…..:)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 392 other followers