Why Treat Your Veins Now?!?!

Sclerotherapy in the Summer? No way, right? It’s 110 in Arizona, support hose are hot and I would be uncomfortable. Wait!!! I’m already uncomfortable. I was diagnosed with venous reflux, aka vein disease, 5 years ago. I have had several procedures done and need annual maintenance with USGS injections. I also wanted surface vein injections but could never “find the time”. So, it’s June and you ask why am I uncomfortable? My legs feel worse in the summer due to the heat which dilates the veins. They feel heavy, achy and I now have severe cramping that wakes me up several times a night. So should I just suffer until summers over? Oh wait, it’s hot until October. I decided to have the injections and I couldn’t be happier. I love hiking and the great outdoors, but I don’t do any of that in the summer anyway. I am indoors, in air conditioning and can still swim whenever I want (without the stockings on). My symptoms have gone away, my legs already feel better and I will be out of the hose in 9 more days. This was so much easier than I thought.

susie in tie dye compression leggingsThe support hose feel great on my legs and I feel energized without the aching and cramping. Was it easy? No, I would prefer to not wear stockings at the gym when working out, and it’s a bit warm getting in and out of the car……..but I’d do it again in a heartbeat. Feeling better right away and taking care of myself is much easier than suffering through a long hot summer and fall waiting to “find the right time”. So what are you waiting for?

Written by Susie Baker, RN
Posted by Kelly

Leave a Reply

